KTM riders honoured at ADB Magazine Reader Choice Awards


The annual Australasian Dirt Bike Magazine Reader Choice Awards night saw motorcycle manufacturers, professional racers and industry supporters turn up in their best dress at Darling Harbour in Sydney, for the year’s most popular riders to be revealed.

Network Ten sports journalist Greg Rust hosted the event, announcing three KTM riders as stand outs in various racing categories.

Taking out the award for Rookie rider of the year was 16 year old Tye Simmonds, who impressed many with his bright pink suit, proving he is a stand out on and off the race track.   Tye was recognised for his outstanding results in 2008, winning the Under 19 class Australian Motocross Championship, and placing second in the Pro Lites class of the Australian Super X Championship.

Motorex KTM Racer, Kristy Gillespie was announced most popular in the women’s racing category, beating former world champion, Katherine Prumm.  Gillespie was recognised for winning the 2008 Australian Women’s Motocross Championship and the 2008 Victorian Women’s Motocross Championship.

KTM was also a winner in supermoto, with 2008 American AMA Supermoto Championship winner Troy Herfoss taking home top honours.  Herfoss’ had one of his most successful years in supermoto racing, also scoring a silver medal in supermoto at the X Games ‘Moto X World Championships’ event in San Diego.

New comer to KTM, Ben Grabham scored himself the most popular off-road racer award, following his successful year with a win in Finke and the Australian Safari, which Grabham stated he is looking to continue with his new signing to Motorex KTM Racing for 2009.

Topping off the event, KTM and Husaberg motorcycle dealer, Anthony Gunter of the Dirt Bike Factory in Wollongong received a prestigious induction into the ADB Hall of Fame.

Stay tuned to and for further team results and updates.